AS I GROW UP…

215441_204669142901243_100000744774692_603806_7524993_n

I  learn so many lessons, as I grow up each and every day. Some of them are palatable, others are unpalatable. And some of them are bitter sweet lessons. All these have shaped my life, one way or the other. Here are some of the lessons;

  1. As I grow up, I have learnt to listen more, and talk less. If you want to know who someone really is, get them to talk, talk and talk more. Through this, you will know how they think, and what motivates them to think the way they think. Perhaps, you will get them to say what they have not thought of yet. 
  2. As I grow up, I have learnt to give more, and take less. There is this life principle that works like magic, no matter your faith: GIVING. If you want to be rich, give. If you want to be successful in any field, learn to give. The Holy Bible confirms this in Acts 20:35 “….. It is more blessed to give than to receive.” The last time I checked, I wanted to be richer than I am now, so I give more.
  3. As I grow up, I have learnt to forgive others as soon as they hurt me. I wonder what the world would be like, if everyone forgives anyone who hurts them? I used to keep the list of people who do me wrong at any point in time. I could practically go over the list, just to make sure I don’t forget them. I came to realise later that, this practice was causing more harm to me than good. Each time I try to remember what people have done to me, I feel the pain that they have pushed me through. This, I thought, was too much a burden for me to carry as I grow up, so I have dumped it.
  4. As I grow up, I have learnt to be myself, and not someone else. Imagine what the world would be like, if everyone acted like another person? Everyone was created in a unique way. We all have potentials. We all have talents. It is up to you to follow your ambitions, or throw it away, and go for that of  another person. Know this, you are not what other people think you are, you are not what you think you are, you are not what you think others think you are, but you are what God thinks you are. Do not lower your standard to the level of others. Believe in yourself that you can also influence others, just like you have been influenced by others.
  5. As I grow up, I have learnt to appreciate life more, and complain less. I have learnt that all things (good or bad), work together for my good. I am content with what I have, no matter how small it is, because someone somewhere somehow wished he was in my position. No matter how poor I see myself, I may be someone’s rich man. This is a life lesson, and I have learnt it!

I could go on and on, but one thing is important in life; You must try and make some modifications in your life at some point in time, because life is not static!

,

  1. Just For You, Mum | Kwabena Dwomoh
  2. Your Sour Sweet Love | Kwabena Dwomoh

Leave a Reply

